Lean Six Sigma Green Belt Training, Organizational Excellence

Professional Cloud Service Manager


Overall Purpose of the Syllabus

The purpose of this syllabus is to provide a clear statement of the knowledge and skills
required by a professional cloud service manager. The Professional Cloud Service Manager
course ensures that the participants acquire the required skill-set and knowledge to become
certified Cloud Service Manager by passing the associated Cloud Credential Council Cloud
Service Manager exam.
This course is an IT Service Management (ITSM) course specifically for managing cloud
computing and cloud based services using a consistent and applicable approach. This
course will explain the aspects of cloud service management which are not covered in
traditional ITIL best-practice and certifications. Furthermore, the course provides guidance to
instructors on which areas must be emphasized to give candidates the best possible chance
of exam success.
The information in this course applies to a hybrid IT environment which includes legacy IT,
Traditional IT and Cloud Computing.

Structure of the Syllabus

The structure of this syllabus is layered as follows:
The history of cloud computing is presented at the start of the course. Throughout the three
days, the course is focused on how cloud computing and cloud based services affect the
design, delivery and operation of end-user and consumer services.
Each module has a clearly stated purpose and introductory synopsis followed by key topics
and the specific learning objectives that must be met in order to achieve required results in
practise and pass the Cloud Service Manager exam.
The flow of the learning modules is designed to build both understanding of the topics and
practice in applying that knowledge to the service manager role.

The Role of the Professional Cloud Service Manager

As cloud computing continues to evolve, so does the role of the professional cloud service
manager. This includes all the activities and responsibilities involved in designing, managing
and retiring cloud computing and cloud based services.
The balance of maintaining the performance of existing systems, processes and functions
while implementing new solution practices is further complicated by the need to consider the
impact on both consumers and providers. The modules in this syllabus systematically lay out
the core components of the cloud service manager function and necessary skills.
It is worth being aware that these functions are carried out within the context of the following
emerging new trends and leading administration solutions:

  • The service manager role often incorporates a number of ‘sub-roles’ (such as IT service
    manager, buyer and/or customer service manager) and may also incorporate operations
    management. This multiple nature is leading toward consolidated teams of administrators
    (i.e. a flattened hierarchy) and truly converged infrastructure management.
  • Service management often covers 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th line support – potentially for multitenancy environments – and includes cloud service providers both inside or external to an
  • Standards for outsourcing (ISO/IEC 37500), service management (ISO/IES: 20000) and
    security compliance (ISO/IEC 27000) are influencing and even dictating service metrics,
    metering, reporting, billing and provisioning systems for cloud environments.
  • ITIL processes need to be adapted in order to support cloud computing and cloud based
    services including; processes for handling escalations i.e. problem, incident, and event
    management, service reporting including SLA/OLA, availability, capacity, change, demand
    management, just to name a few.
  • The multi-layered structure between cloud service providers and consumers is creating
    the need to refine service design and operational processes as well and number of key IT
    processes and functions.

Learning Level of the Syllabus

The modern version of Bloom’s taxonomy of learning is a widely used classification
framework for course syllabi and assessments for certification. The taxonomy classifies
learning into six ascending levels.

  • Level 1 – the Knowing Level: Exhibit memory of previously learned materials by recalling
    facts, terms, basic concepts and answers
  • Level 2 – the Comprehension level: Demonstrative understanding of facts and ideas by
    organizing, comparing, translating, interpreting, giving descriptions, and stating main
  •  Level 3 – the Application level: Using new knowledge. Solve problems to new situations
    by applying acquired knowledge, facts, techniques and rules in a different way.
  • Level 4 – the Analysis level: Examine and break information into parts by identifying
    motives or causes. Make inferences and find evidence to support generalizations.
  • Level 5 – the Evaluate level: Present and defend opinions by making judgments about
    information, validity of ideas or quality of work based on a set of criteria.
  • Level 6 – the Creation level: Compile information together in a different way by
    combining elements in a new pattern or proposing alternative solutions.
    The level of this advanced course for the Professional Cloud Service Manager role is level 3-
    4 (Apply, Analyse).